Banana Blueberry Spinach Smoothie

f0083e7d-7349-401c-aac4-f7282a1cddd2

I love to switch my morning breakfast foods around, so this morning I kicked things off with a powerhouse banana blueberry spinach smoothie.  For most people getting their daily dose of vegetables can be a challenge, so it is always great to find ways to sneak your greens in while keeping things delicious and a little sweet.  I always add a big heaping amount of spinach to my smoothies.  Spinach has so many great health benefits, ranging from bone health, protein, iron and plenty of vitamins and minerals.  Most people do not enjoy eating spinach just in plain form, but when you add it to a smoothie with some banana and blueberries you will not even know it was in there.

Since the taste is hidden in there, my ratio of spinach to fruit is higher.  In this case I filled up half of my cup with spinach and then added about 1/4 cup frozen blueberries and 1/2 a frozen banana and about a half cup almond milk along with a spoonful of flaxseed.  I love using frozen banana’s because it creates a creamier consistency as opposed to a watery smoothie (which kind of defeats the purpose of a smoothie)

The beauty of smoothies is that you can add in whatever fruits, vegetables or supplements you want.  just do not skimp out on adding any leafy greens to your drink.

** I also added a little sprinkle of the crunchy coffee peanut butter granola that I made the other day.  You can find the recipe linked in the article.

Cheers,

Kelliann

Leave a Reply

